The Bee Symphony | The Rymer Auditorium, York 17th December 2010


The Bee Symphony, consisting of recordings of bees by Chris Watson (‘The (‘Autumn Watch’, ‘The Life of Birds’, ‘The Life of Mammals’, ‘Life in the Undergrowth’ and ‘Life in Cold Blood’), Mike Harding (Touch) and a vocal score by Marcus Davidson (Spire) will be performed live by Chris Watson and five singers from the University of York, conducted by Marcus Davidson. The Symphony was originally commissioned as part of Pestival and performed in the Queen Elizabeth Hall, London. Updated details of the full programme can be seen on the The Bee Symphony microsite

“The theme of the evening is really for people to become immersed in the sounds and rhythms of the insects.” Chris Watson

In addition to The Bee Symphony the programme will feature other sound performances and talks by scientists on current research on bees and the current perils that they face, including:

Irene Moon – My Queen and I: An introduction to the bees and their closest relatives, also a special episode for TouchRadio

The Bee Symphony
Celebrating the bee in science and art
Friday 17 December 2010 at 7.30pm
Rymer Auditorium
Buy tickets at www.yorkconcerts.co.uk
The Bee Symphony microsite

If you enjoyed this post, make sure you subscribe to the RSS feed!