Upcoming concert: Hugh Davies, Stockhausen, Christian Wolff, Owen Green

A rare opportunity to hear performances of works by Hugh Davies and other avant-garde repertoire from the late 1960s. The programme will include Davies’s Quintet(1967-8) and Music for a Single Spring (1975), Verbindung (Connection) and Intensität(Intensity) from Stockhausen’s Aus den sieben Tagen (From the Seven Days, 1968), Wolff’s Edges (1968), and a more recent work by Owen Green for amplified cardboard box. Many of these works were performed by Davies’s own ensemble, Gentle Fire, in the 1970s. On this occasion they will be performed by Grey Area, an Edinburgh-based ensemble specialising in the use of live electronics and acoustic instruments.

There will be a pre-concert talk at 6.30pm; the performance itself will begin at 7.30pm.

Free admission.

About the Ensemble

Grey Area was formed in 2011, with an initial focus on Stockhausen’s ‘Intuitive Music’ works Aus den sieben Tagen and Für Kommende Zeiten. The group has gone on to work with a range of structured improvisations by composers such as Christian Wolff, Cornelius Cardew, Hugh Davies, and Tim Souster, as well as free improvisation and original and collaborative pieces and processes by members of the ensemble. One of the group’s principal interests is in distributed creativity, and the ideas of authorship, agency, and emergence are never far away from Grey Area’s music practice. Regular players are Shiori Usui, Nikki Moran, Armin Sturm, Owen Green, Emma Lloyd, and Sean Williams, with guest players including Sue MacKenzie and Dave Murray-Rust.


  • Video stream: click here
  • Facebook event: click here 
  • Concert series webpage: click here 
  • Directions to the venue: click here 

Saturday 23 May 2015, pre-concert talk 6.30pm, concert 7.30pm

Clothworkers Centenary Concert Hall
School of Music, University of Leeds
Leeds, West Yorkshire, LS2 9JT

Video stream: http://livestream.com/uol/davies-stockhausen-wolff-green



About: modisti

Experimental Music and sound art Archive. If you want to propose some work for the file you have to register as a user

Categories: Concerts