ShortWaveMusic . ALL NIGHT FLIGHT @ Radius


«ALL NIGHT FLIGHT» is an immersive nocturnal ambient sound excursion in honor of World Listening Day 2013. «ALL NIGHT FLIGHT» is a wide-ranging sonic odyssey which reflects ecologies of many kinds: environmental (ocean sounds, wildlife, atmospheres), religious (calls to prayer and ritual singing), radiophonic (data transmissions, Morse code, folkloric music), and beyond. The listener experiences “natural” sounds juxtaposed with “unnatural” sounds, robotic speech mixed with human speech, field recordings of electronic amplification carrying human sound across rural environments. Weiskopf’s hope is that the listener will be able to hear the world as he does: an endlessly recombinant sonic field where every noise, song, and sound, regardless of its source, takes its place in a perfect, haunting, and eternal arrangement.

Performances start between 9 and 10 PM PST and run all night, mixed continuously, until 5 or 6 AM. Weiskopf rejects traditional concert settings in favor of remote, rural, desert, or undocumented areas.

This edition, produced exclusively for Radius, is a 73-minute distillation of the inaugural «ALL NIGHT FLIGHT» performed, created, and mixed live by Myke Dodge Weiskopf in the desert of Joshua Tree, California, on 20 July 2013, 10 PM – 5 AM PST.

  1. Myke Dodge Weiskopf / Waves of Waves
  2. 2013-05-21 – Barrington Hills, IL – Mower and Birdsong
  3. Radio Cairo / 11885 kHz, 5/22/2005 (xxxxUTC)
  4. Myke Dodge Weiskopf / BBC
  5. Myke Dodge Weiskopf / Dark Radio
  6. Soft Sea of Radioteletype: 6363 kHz, 11/13/2003 (0635UTC)
  7. BBC Early NICAM Test, 1980s
  8. Myke Dodge Weiskopf / Song of Encouragement
  9. 2013-05-28 – Barrington Hills, IL – Late Night Storm with Airplane
  10. VNG Australia / 5000 kHz, x/xx/2001 (1036UTC)
  11. Myke Dodge Weiskopf / Three Note Oddity (All Night Flight Remix)
  12. NHK Nagoya Broadcasting JOCB / 2011-03-11 – Nagoya, Japan – Emergency Tsunami Evacuation Warning
  13. Myke Dodge Weiskopf / Incipit Vita Nova (JP Jones Split Infinitives RMX)
  14. 2013-03-16 – Hilham, Socotra – Waves over gravel beach
  15. Fuzz Noise Drone: 8677 kHz, 5/17/2005 (2355UTC)
  16. RA-1 Channel One / 1991 – Rockford, IL – Mysterious Telephone Loop
  17. Myke Dodge Weiskopf / Attack Warning (All Night Flight Remix)
  18. Stephen Barncard / 2011-07-16 – San Francisco, CA – Foghorns of the Golden Gate
  19. Radio Ukraine International / The Dream by Valentin Silvestrov: 7440 kHz, 5/20/2005 (0200UTC)
  20. 2013-01-26 – Phelan, CA – Distant Trains at Mormon Rocks
  21. Myke Dodge Weiskopf / Radio Tone Piece (All Night Flight Remix)
  22. M08: 10715 kHz, 7/22/2003 (0210UTC)
  23. Myke Dodge Weiskopf / Interlude 2: Faders
  24. Radio Stations WWV & WWVH / New Station IDs, 1972 (0358–0403 GMT)
  25. Frequency Intermingling: 6185 kHz, 11/13/2003 (0345UTC)
  26. Myke Dodge Weiskopf / AF447
  27. WFAA-TV, Dallas-Ft. Worth, TX / Station Sign-Off, early to mid-1970s

All pieces recorded, collected, and/or composed by Myke Dodge Weiskopf (1991-2013) except:

  • “Foghorns of the Golden Gate” recorded by Stephen Barncard (San Francisco, CA 2011)
  • “WFAA-TV, Dallas-Ft. Worth, TX / Station Sign-Off, early to mid-1970s” by Kosan Chim


Myke Dodge Weiskopf is a radio producer and historian, broadcast artist, multi-instrumentalist, sound recordist, and composer based in Los Angeles, CA.ShortWaveMusic is his principal project: a global sound series which aims to preserve the sound of regional and international broadcasting around the world. As an offshoot of the ShortWaveMusic project, he travels the world recording local and indigenous musicians, from Bulgarian singers to Malian drummers and Yemeni muezzins and beyond.

VN:R_U [1.9.7_1111]
Rating: 6.0/10 (1 vote cast)
VN:R_U [1.9.7_1111]
Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
ShortWaveMusic . ALL NIGHT FLIGHT @ Radius, 6.0 out of 10 based on 1 rating


NO WAY OUT – SONOLOGYST . The Double Side Of Nature
No Way Out : Sound design and processing. Sonologyst : Sound design and processing. Front-cover artwork by Sal Di Cicco. Sometimes it seems that the natural sounds are more artificial ...
DĂ©phasage #35 – 18.12.13
This is the last show of 2013 for DĂ©phasage, a perfect moment to offer a fake end-of-the-year-best-of-playlist. From shortwave radios to micro-looped field recordings, it's a long way to go, ...
SONIKAS XI (21 y 22 de diciembre de 2013)
                                      Sábado 21 de diciembre 20:00 h. Daniel del RĂ­o Sus Ăşltimos trabajos giran en torno a la difusiĂłn sonora multicanal y la instalaciĂłn. Entre otros centros, ha expuesto en espacios como el Center ...
“Concret-Sens”, a new release by Emmanuel Mieville in Crónica
Crónica is very proud to present a new release from French composer Emmanuel Mieville, the wonderful “Concret-Sens”. Cillages (13:48) Locus Sonus (10:20) Solis Ortus (12:22) The title of this release refers to a French ...
[framework radio] #445: 2013.12.01 [d. l. lutz]
this edition of framework:afield has been produced in germany by regular contributor d. l. lutz. his notes:       Earscape „Broadcast“ Just imagine yourself being a seaman on a large containership, in the middle of nowhere ...
SOUNDING​[​S] :: hooke wood encounters
Latest collaboration with the metamedia crew [Mandy Rathbone, ivon oates, David Rogers and Joe Stevens]. They have been collaborating as metamedia for two years now, sonically exploring architectural spaces, focusing on site-specific ...
Tristan Louth-Robins . THE PATH DESCRIBED
"There is an otherworldly quality to the field recordings of Tristan Louth-Robins, which is, of course, entirely the wrong word. They are intrinsically of this world. Within them we may ...
2 New electroacoustic albums by Antony Maubert & Edith Alonso
    We're proud to announce the release of two electroacouastic albums on Radical Matters label:    Antony Maubert: Overflow & Slashes (including some of his first electroacoustic works (2004-2009) http://www.radicalmatters.com/radical.matters.cd.cdr.catalogue.asp?tp=1&c=550    Edith Alonso: Upon a fading gleam (including some of ...
[framework radio] #444: [jörg piringer]
this week saw us return to our occasional framework:ephemera format. framework:ephemera editions usually occur when i am traveling, and can visit an artist in their own space, who i then invite to select the ...
[framework radio] #443 [mark vernon & ian middleton]
this is the second of a two-part edition of framework:afield, entitled the tonic garden – a sonic survey of soothing sounds, produced by mark vernon and ian middleton in scotland. for more information seehttp://www.meagreresource.com. notes from ...
DĂ©phasage #35 – 18.12.13
SONIKAS XI (21 y 22 de diciembre de
“Concret-Sens”, a new release by Emmanuel Mieville in
[framework radio] #445: 2013.12.01 [d. l. lutz]
SOUNDING​[​S] :: hooke wood encounters
Tristan Louth-Robins . THE PATH DESCRIBED
2 New electroacoustic albums by Antony Maubert &
[framework radio] #444: [jörg piringer]
[framework radio] #443 [mark vernon & ian middleton]

You must be logged in to post a comment.